Main Content

President Declares Major Disaster for Nebraska

Main Content
Release date: 
July 31, 2009
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for the State of Nebraska and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes during the period of June 5-26, 2009.

FEMA Administrator Craig Fugate said the president's action makes federal funding available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes in Arthur, Box Butte, Cherry, Custer, Dixon, Garden, Hamilton, Keya Paha, Morrill, Pawnee, Richardson, Rock, and Scotts Bluff counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all tribal governments and counties within the state.

Fugate named Michael L. Karl as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.  Karl said that additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders and ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top