Main Content

Disaster Assistance To Missourians Tops $4.4 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
July 31, 2009
Release Number: 

Jefferson City, Missouri -- More than $4.4 million in disaster assistance has been approved in the six weeks since President Obama issued a major disaster declaration for Missouri. The disaster declaration is a result of severe storms, tornadoes and flooding May 8 - 16.

As of Thursday, the latest figures were:

  • 2,630 individuals have registered for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA);
  • $3,361,568 has been approved for temporary housing and home repairs;
  • $279,969 in Other Needs Assistance has been approved for personal property loss, medical costs and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance;
  • $766,700 in low-interest disaster loans have been approved for renters, homeowners and businesses.

Registration is available at or by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), (TTY 1-800-462-7585) from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., seven days a week until August 18.

Individual assistance is available in the following counties: Adair, Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Greene, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Jefferson, Laclede, Lawrence, Madison, Newton, Ozark, Polk, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Francois, Shannon, Texas, Washington, and Webster counties.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top