Main Content

Morris County Added To Public Assistance Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
July 28, 2009
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- Morris County has been added to the list of eligible counties to receive Public Assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as a result of severe winter storms and record or near record snow during the period of March 26-29, 2009.

Federal Coordinating Officer Mike Karl said the assistance was approved based on a review of damage data gathered by federal, state and local disaster officials.

FEMA's Public Assistance program provides federal funds to reimburse 75 percent of the costs for removing debris, conducting emergency activities and repairing levees, roads, bridges, utility and water control facilities, public buildings, and parks. The State of Kansas and/or the applying agency will cover the remaining 25 percent.

Morris County joins Barber, Barton, Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Clark, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Dickinson, Edwards, Elk, Grant, Greenwood, Harvey, Haskell, Kearney, Kingman, Kiowa, Lyon, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Seward, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Sumner, and Woodson counties under the disaster declaration signed by President Obama on June 24, 2009.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders and ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: