Two Counties Added To Declaration For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 22, 2009
Release Number: 

MARION, Ill. -- Hamilton and Union counties were designated eligible for federal Public Assistance (PA) today. That brings the total number of counties to eight, according to officials from the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The July 2, 2009 major disaster declaration covers disaster-related infrastructure costs caused by the severe storm, tornadoes and flooding that occurred May 8 and 9. It provides federal reimbursement to state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations.  

Under the PA cost-share program, FEMA funds 75 percent of the approved cost. Eligible work includes debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair or replacement of damaged public facilities such as roads, bridges, buildings, utilities and recreation areas. The state manages the grants for all projects.

The main goal of FEMA's PA program is to restore eligible facilities to their pre-disaster levels. Funds are available that allow certain projects to be rebuilt to a higher standard if it can be shown the increased costs will save taxpayers money in the future.

Previously designated counties eligible for PA assistance are Franklin, Gallatin, Jackson, Randolph, Saline and Williamson.

Any eligible organizations in the eight counties interested in applying should contact IEMA at (217) 782-8719.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders and to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top