Kentucky Disaster Aid Registrants Advised To Stay In Touch With FEMA

Main Content
Release date: 
July 15, 2009
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Kentuckians with losses from the May storms and flooding should stay in touch with disaster assistance agencies throughout the recovery process to make sure that all their information is current. If an agency is waiting for information, has the wrong information, or has no way to contact the applicant, there may be delays in assistance.

People who have registered with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) can stay in touch by using the agency's Helpline, 800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 800-462-7585, or by going online to  The Helpline is staffed from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice and multilingual specialists are available.

Applicants should use these resources to update their current address and phone number, reschedule inspection appointments, notify FEMA about insurance settlements, initiate appeals, or ask any disaster-related questions

Applicants with insurance should tell FEMA when they get their insurance settlements and the amount of the insurance payment so that FEMA can determine whether any federal help is available to supplement the insurance payment.

Staying in touch includes the prompt return of forms and answers to requests for information. Many assistance applicants were issued disaster loan applications from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). They should complete and return the forms as part of the assistance process. No one is required to accept a loan. Some homeowners and renters who do not qualify for a loan may become eligible for some types of FEMA aid. SBA is the only form of assistance to businesses affected by the storm. The deadline to submit an SBA disaster loan application is Tuesday, July 28.

The deadline to register for FEMA disaster assistance is a day earlier, Monday, July 27. Once an applicant is in the system, he or she has time to continue communicating with FEMA after the deadline, but only those people in the system before the deadline will be able to obtain federal aid.

Counties eligible for FEMA individual assistance are Breathitt, Floyd, Magoffin, Owsley, and Pike.

To register for assistance call 800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 800-462-7585, or go online to  The Helpline is staffed from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice and multilingual specialists are available.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top