FEMA Registration Deadline Is August 17 For Alabama Counties Of Autauga, Bullock, Elmore, And Montgomery

Main Content
Release date: 
July 15, 2009
Release Number: 

MONTGOMERY, Ala. -- Survivors of the severe storms of May 6-8 in Autauga, Bullock, Elmore,   and Montgomery counties have until Aug. 17, 2009 to register for disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Friday marks the halfway point in the 60-day registration period. Registrations cannot be accepted after the deadline.

Residents and business owners in the four-county area who have yet to register are urged to call        800-621-FEMA (3362). TTY is 800-462-7585 for the speech- and hearing-impaired. Lines are open daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Online registration is available any time at www.disasterassistance.gov.

"Registration keeps open the possibility of a wide range of assistance," said Federal Coordinating Officer Albie Lewis. "There is no need to delay registering because you are waiting for an insurance settlement."

To date, more than 2,100 individuals have registered for federal assistance in the four central Alabama counties and nearly $5 million has been approved for individuals and households. More than $500,000 has been approved in low-interest disaster loans through the U.S. Small Business Administration.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top