Some Non-Citizens May Qualify For Federal Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
July 7, 2009
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Individuals who are not U.S. citizens, but who were in Kentucky and in the United States legally at the time of the May storms and flooding and experienced disaster losses may be eligible for federal aid, according to commonwealth and federal officials.

Applicants must be U.S. citizens, non-citizen nationals or qualified aliens to be eligible to receive Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) disaster grants. An individual's legal status will not be jeopardized by applying for assistance.

Qualified aliens include:

  • Individuals with Lawful Permanent Residency (holders of "green cards");
  • Those with refugee or asylum status; 
  • Those whose deportation has been withheld; 
  • Those on parole in the U.S. for at least one year for humanitarian purposes; 
  • Those with conditional entry; and 
  • Those with petitions for relief based on battery or extreme cruelty by a family member.

Disaster aid can be provided as long as someone in the pre-disaster household is eligible. No information will be required regarding the status of other household members. For example, a parent or legal guardian who is not eligible for assistance may apply on behalf of a minor child who is a U.S. citizen. The adult certifies for the child, but no information is required on the adult's status.

Households with no one eligible for FEMA grants may be eligible for programs run by state, local or voluntary agencies. They may also be eligible for short-term, non-cash aid from FEMA, such as disaster legal services.
Anyone in Breathitt, Floyd, Owsley, Pike and Magoffin counties with damage from the storms and flooding during early May who has not done so is urged to register for assistance before the deadline on July 27.

Multilingual operators are available to assist storm survivors on FEMA's toll-free telephone number, 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585. Phone lines are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice. Registrations can also be completed online at

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top