Main Content

Disaster Aid Amended To Include Yupiit, Lower Yukon And Yukon-Koyukuk

Release date: 
July 2, 2009
Release Number: 

ANCHORAGE, Alaska -- State and federal officials announced yesterday that additional communities have been added to the June 11 federal disaster declaration resulting from the April 28 to May 31 flooding and ice jams.  The amended declaration is the result of a request by the State following continued damage assessments.

The expanded declaration means that individuals in the Yupiit Regional Educational Attendance Area (REAA) and Lower Yukon REAA are eligible to apply for programs that may provide disaster recovery grants, housing assistance, and/or low-interest loans.

"Individual Assistance teams will begin visiting the add-on communities beginning July 7, to locate those who need help and work with them to identify their specific disaster-related needs," said Federal Coordinating Officer Doug Mayne of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). 

Public Assistance is now available to State, local and tribal governments, including Alaska native villages and certain private nonprofits such as educational and medical facilities, in the Lower Yukon REAA and Yukon-Koyukuk REAA.   Public Assistance provides financial help to repair or replace disaster-damaged infrastructure and facilities.

"The inclusion of these additional areas will greatly help more of our citizens and communities recover from the damages and losses during the recent flood," said Bob Stewart, State Coordinating Officer for this disaster.

Individuals who do not register for help when teams are in their area may do so by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY), between 3 a.m. and 9 p.m. local time, seven days a week.  Anyone with follow-up questions about their application may call the Alaska FEMA/State helpline at 1-877-444-0829 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

With the July 1 amended declaration, the State of Alaska is now eligible for the following federal disaster assistance:

Individual and Public Assistance -- Alaska Gateway REAA, the Kuspuk REAA, the Lower Yukon REAA, the Yukon Flats REAA, the Yukon-Koyukuk REAA, and the Yupiit REAA.

Public Assistance -- Lower Kuskokwim REAA and the Matanuska-Susitna Borough

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: