Main Content

Last Chance To Register For Disaster Assistance; Deadline Is June 22

Main Content
Release date: 
June 19, 2009
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Monday, June 22, is the deadline for south Georgians who suffered damage from the March 26-April 13 severe storms and flooding to apply for disaster assistance. Registration is required before assistance can be awarded.

"Time is running out. We want everyone who had damages from the recent floods to register," said Charley English of the Georgia Emergency Management Agency (GEMA). "You can't get assistance unless you take that first step."

The deadline to return a loan application with the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is  also June 22. SBA loans are the largest source of disaster funds to repair or replace damaged or destroyed personal property or for making substantial repairs or rebuilding damaged structures to their pre-disaster condition. The low-interest disaster loans are available to homeowners, renters, and businesses of  all sizes.

"I can't emphasize enough how important it is to return the SBA loan application," said Terry Quarles   of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). "Fill it out and return it even if you don't want a loan. If you have any questions, call the Helpline."

The registration deadline is 10 p.m. June 22.

Individuals can apply for assistance, ask questions or check on the status of an application by dialing FEMA's Helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585. The toll-free numbers are available seven days a week, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. until further notice. Help in all languages is available.

People also can register online by visiting or by calling the Helpline.

The 23 counties whose residents are eligible to apply for disaster assistance are Baker, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brantley, Brooks, Camden, Coffee, Colquitt, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Echols, Lanier, Lowndes, Miller, Mitchell, Montgomery, Pierce, Tattnall, Tift, Ware, Wheeler, and Worth counties.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: