Main Content

Federal Aid Available To Repair Disaster Damaged Infrastructure

Release date: 
June 19, 2009
Release Number: 

ANCHORAGE, Alaska -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) recently announced a disaster declaration to help state, local and tribal governments, including Alaska native villages, as well as certain private nonprofits, such as educational and medical facilities, recover from eligible losses incurred during the 2009 spring flood event along portions of the Yukon and Kuskokwim Rivers.

Governor Sarah Palin requested a presidential declaration May 25, after determining that the severity and magnitude of the damages to publically owned infrastructure warranted federal aid.

Public Assistance teams, made up of Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and State of Alaska Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHS&EM) personnel, will be traveling to each community within the designated disaster declaration area to brief applicants and to develop repair documents.

The Public Assistance Teams will meet with community leaders in the following communities:

June 22- City of Eagle, Eagle Village and Red Devil
June 24- Aniak
June 26- Stevens Village and Crooked Creek
June 28- Ft. Yukon
June 29- Circle and Akiak
June 30- Tanana-Tentative
July 1- Kwethluk
July 6- Upper Kalskag and Lower Kalskag
July 8- Akiachak and Sleetmute
July 10- Tuluksak and Napakiak
July 13- Emmonak and Alakanuk- Tentative
July 15- Marshall- Tentative

This schedule is subject to change.

Communities not listed in the above list should contact the DHS&EM Public Assistance Section at
1 (800) 478-2337. A Project Description Form and a Request for Public Assistance form is available at under the Quick Links. Other important information available at the above website includes the state and federal disaster declarations, Public Assistance notification letters, and a federal grant condition summary.

"With the Public Assistance Program helping state and local governments recover, the entire disaster-affected community benefits," said Federal Coordinating Officer Doug Mayne. "This federal program provides assistance that is vital to the recovery process by helping communities rebuild without putting an additional burden on residents."

Reimbursement is enabled on a 75 percent federal, 25 percent non-federal cost share. DHS&EM administers the funds to applicants for their eligible projects and funds the 25 percent cost share for a majority of applicants.

"We are working in close cooperation with federal and local officials to ensure our disaster-affected communities receive all eligible assistance," said Robert Stewart, State Coordinating Officer for the disaster.

In addition to the PA Program, eligible public applicants throughout the state may apply for funds to reduce future disaster losses under FEMA's Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) - a program that helps state and local governments avoid or lessen the impact of natural hazards through safer building practices and the improvement of existing structures and supporting infrastructure.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: