Main Content

President Declares Major Disaster For South Dakota

Main Content
Release date: 
June 16, 2009
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for South Dakota and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and flooding beginning on March 11, 2009, and continuing.

FEMA Administrator Craig Fugate said the president's action makes federal funding available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding in Brown, Butte, Campbell, Corson, Day, Dewey, Edmunds, Harding, Marshall, McPherson, Perkins, Roberts, Spink, and Ziebach counties and the portions of the Cheyenne River Reservation and Standing Rock Reservation that lie within these counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state.

Fugate named Nancy M. Casper as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.  Casper said that additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: