Main Content

Mississippi Disaster Adds Jefferson Davis County For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 8, 2009
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- Governor Haley Barbour's request for Jefferson Davis County to be added to the Federal Disaster Declaration for damage caused by severe weather in March was granted today by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.  Local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in Jefferson Davis County are now eligible to apply for assistance from FEMA's Public Assistance Program.

The program provides grants, on a cost-sharing basis, to help pay for emergency protective measures, debris removal, and permanent repairs to roads, bridges and public buildings and infrastructure damaged by the storm.

Amite, Greene, Jackson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Simpson, Stone, Walthall, Wayne and Wilkinson counties were previously designated for assistance for storms that struck the state March 25-28.

FEMA Public Assistance grants cover 75 percent of the approved eligible costs with the remainder coming from state and local governments.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: