Main Content

Three Weeks To Register

Release date: 
May 29, 2009
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Indiana residents and business owners living in the 16 counties included in the recent presidential disaster declaration have three weeks left to register for federal disaster assistance.

The designated counties are: Allen, Carroll, Daviess, DeKalb, Fulton, Jasper, Kosciusko, Lake, LaPorte, Lawrence, Marshall, Noble, Pulaski, St. Joseph, White and Whitley.

June 22, 2009 is the last day applications will be accepted by FEMA for Individual Assistance. Loan applications for homeowners, renters, and businesses of any size to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for disaster-related losses to real and personal property also must be submitted by that date.

Federal and state disaster recovery officials urge eligible residents affected by recent storms and flooding to apply as soon as possible by calling the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Speech-or hearing-impaired may call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Individuals also may register for disaster assistance at the FEMA Web site Tell your neighbor.

Applicants who have questions about the disaster assistance programs or questions about the status of their previously filed applications should continue to use FEMA's toll-free Helpline at 1-800-621-3362, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (EDT), seven days a week. For more information on the SBA disaster loan program, call the SBA Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955.

To date, 1,234 Indiana residents have applied for disaster assistance. More than $2.7 million in disaster funds have been approved for individuals affected by the disaster. That includes $662,700 in disaster loans from SBA. 557 visits have been made to Indiana recovery centers.

If you receive a letter from SBA after you register for federal assistance with FEMA - be sure to open it and complete the forms inside. Returning the loan application is an essential part of the disaster recovery process even for individuals who do not want a loan. Homeowners and renters unable to obtain a disaster loan from the SBA may be referred to FEMA for grant consideration. To be eligible for these grants, applicants must submit their SBA loan application even if they do not want a loan. No one is required to accept a loan.

Two U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Disaster Loan Outreach Centers (DLOCs) are open until further notice.

Pulaski County
Winamac Municipal Utility Complex
623 West 11th Street
Winamac, IN 46996
Open: Monday - Friday; 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Saturday; 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
White County
White County Emergency Management Agency
315 North Illinois Street
Monticello, IN 47960
Open: Monday - Friday; 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Saturday; 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

The SBA offers low-interest disaster loans to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private non-profit organizations. These loans are to repair or replace homes or personal property and to assist businesses recover from the severe storms and flooding.

For more information about SBA, call the SBA Customer Service Center from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. (EDT) Monday through Friday at 1-800-659-2955 for information and assistance.  Affected residents may apply online at  Applicants also may visit the SBA Web site at http://ww...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: