Only Two Weeks Remain To Apply For Federal Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 25, 2009
Release Number: 

MOORHEAD, Minn. -- Minnesota residents and business owners who live in the seven counties designated in the April presidential disaster declaration have only two weeks left to apply for federal disaster assistance.

Tuesday, June 9 is the last day to apply with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for Individual Assistance. The designated counties are: Beltrami, Clay, Marshall, Norman, Polk, Traverse and Wilkin.

Federal and state disaster recovery officials urge residents affected by recent storms and flooding to apply as soon as possible. Applicants can call the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 1-800-462-7585, between 7 a.m. and 11 p.m. CDT seven days a week. Individuals also may apply any time at

"By applying, residents may be eligible for a variety of individual assistance programs," said Federal Coordinating Officer Michael H. Smith. "Individuals need to apply before the 60-day registration period is up on June 9."

FEMA grants help pay for items like home repairs, temporary housing and other serious, necessary disaster-related expenses. These other expenses could include damaged personal property, medical and dental expenses.

The deadline is for new disaster applications only. Federal disaster specialists will continue to process cases after June 9 for residents who have already applied. Applicants who have questions about the disaster assistance programs or questions about the status of their previously filed applications should continue to use FEMA's toll-free Helpline at 1-800-621-3362.

Loan applications for homeowners, renters and businesses of any size also must be submitted by June 9 to the SBA. Loans could cover disaster-related losses including damage or loss of real and personal property. The deadline for loans to cover economic impacts to businesses is Jan. 11, 2010.

Individuals with SBA questions may call the SBA Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955, TTY 1-800-877-8339 or online at

As of close of business May 22, 1,213 Minnesota residents have applied for disaster assistance. More than $4.5 million in disaster funds have been approved for individuals affected by the disaster. That includes more than 2.5 million (as of COB May 21) in disaster loans from SBA.

Applicants who receive a letter from SBA after applying for federal assistance with FEMA need to open it and complete the forms inside. Returning the loan application is an essential part of the disaster recovery process, even for individuals who do not want a loan. Simply filling out and returning the SBA application may make other FEMA assistance available to some applicants.

Residents should register with FEMA even if they have insurance. FEMA does not duplicate insurance payments or pay deductibles. Applicants may be eligible, however, for assistance with serious, necessary expenses not covered by insurance.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top