Minnesota Flood Update: Federal Assistance Exceeds $4.5 Million for Flood Recovery

Main Content
Release date: 
May 22, 2009
Release Number: 

MOORHEAD, Minn. -- Federal assistance continues to flow for Minnesotans affected by the Red River Valley flooding, and now exceeds $4.5 million.

To date, $4,526,376 in federal assistance has been approved for residents and businesses in the seven counties designated for Individual Assistance (IA) - Beltrami, Clay, Marshall, Norman, Polk, Traverse and Wilkin.

The deadline to apply for federal assistance is June 9, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

"We continue to work closely with the State of Minnesota to help those affected by the flood, and to provide the timely federal assistance necessary for their recovery process," said Federal Coordinating Officer Michael H. Smith.

The following is a summary of ongoing disaster assistance as of close of business May 21:

  • $1,992,276 in disaster assistance grants under the Individuals and Households Program has been approved. This includes $1,892,845 in Housing Assistance (582 applications) and $99,431 in Other Needs Assistance (108 applications).
  • 1,208 applications have been received from the seven designated counties. Nearly 50 percent of those applications were made online.
  • $2,534,100 has been approved in U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans.
  • 1,160 people have visited the Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) to personally talk with recovery specialists or to get help with SBA low-interest loan applications, including 890 who have visited the DRC in Moorhead. This past week, FEMA operated a DRC in Grygla, which closed on Friday. A DRC will be re-established in Oslo on Tuesday, May 26, after a one-week hiatus.

These figures do not yet include Public Assistance grants to fund repair and restoration of storm-damaged facilities and services provided by counties, cities, townships, and private non-profit organizations that deliver essential public services.

Individuals are encouraged to apply for assistance before visiting a DRC by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585. FEMA operators are available from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. CDT seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available to assist registrants. Applications can also be completed online anytime at www.DisasterAssistance.gov. The application deadline is June 9.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.                  

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top