Three More Counties Added To Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
May 13, 2009
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Officials from the Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that disaster assistance has been made available for three more Indiana counties to help residents recover from the effects of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding of March 8 ? 14. The additional counties are: Daviess, Lawrence and St. Joseph.

Individuals and business owners in these counties are now eligible to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs under the major disaster declaration issued by President Obama.

  • Other counties previously designated as eligible for Individual Assistance (IA) are: Allen, Carroll, DeKalb, Fulton, Jasper, Kosciusko, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Noble, Pulaski, White and Whitley.

Help can include:

  • Funding for temporary disaster housing assistance
  • Grants to help meet serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs
  • U. S. Small Business Administration low-interest loans for homeowners, renters and business owners to repair or replace real or personal property and housing repair

Affected individuals and business owners may apply for assistance by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), 7 a.m. to 1 a.m. (EDT), seven days a week.

Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Applications can also be completed online at .

Officials remind affected residents who have already filled out damage report forms with the State, or their county emergency managers, or voluntary agencies that they must register with FEMA at the above numbers or web site to be eligible for federal assistance.

Callers are advised to have the following information available to help speed up the application process:

  • Current phone number
  • Social Security number, if available
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered
  • If insured, insurance policy number, or agent and company name
  • General financial information
  • The address of and good directions to the damaged property
  • A phone number where you can be reached during the daytime and early evening

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top