Disaster Unemployment Authorized For Beltrami, Marshall And Polk Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
May 12, 2009
Release Number: 

MOORHEAD, Minn. -- Eligible workers and self-employed residents of Beltrami, Marshall and Polk counties can qualify for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA), according to state and federal officials.

DUA is for individuals and business owners who were unemployed after March 22, 2009 as a result of the flood. The deadline for applying for DUA is Tuesday, June 9, 2009.

The first step is to file for regular Unemployment Insurance (UI) at www.uimn.org. If a determination is made that a worker or self-employed individual is not eligible for UI, the DUA program pays benefits for those whose work was lost or interrupted as a direct result of a disaster.

An online application for DUA can also be completed at www.unim.org. DUA applications can also be completed by calling the UI Customer Service toll free number at 1-877-898-9090 (TTY 1-866-814-1252).

DUA is administered by the State, but the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) provides 100 percent of the funding for the program. DUA is designed to cover workers and self-employed individuals such as artists, farmers and farm workers, freelance writers and photographers, and others, who normally would not be eligible for UI.

DUA applies to those who:

  • Can't work because their jobs were lost or interrupted by the disaster.
  • Can't travel to their workplace because of debris-clogged or flooded roads.
  • Are self-employed but prevented from working due to the effects of flooding.
  • Provide the major support for a household because of injury or death to the usual head of household as a direct result of the disaster.

Paper applications for DUA are also available at the Moorhead, Bemidji and Crookston WorkForce Centers and State/Federal Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) located in the affected counties. FEMA, the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) staff the DRCs.

Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) locations:

Oslo Senior Center/City Offices (May 11 through May 19)
107 3rd Avenue East
Oslo, MN 56744
Hours: Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Saturday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Sunday, closed.
Tuesday (May 19) 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Polk County Sheriff's Office/EOC (May 11 until further notice)
600 Bruce Street
Crookston, MN 56716
Hours: Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Saturday, 9 a.m., to 4 p.m.
Sunday, closed.

Lakeside Service Center (May 11 until further notice)
505 Bemidji Avenue North
Bemidji, MN 56601
Hours: Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Saturday, 9 a.m., to 4 p.m.
Sunday, closed.

Minnesota WorkForce Centers:

Moorhead WorkForce Center, Clay County Family Service Center, 715 11th Street N, Suite 302, Moorhead, phone 218-287-5060

Crookston WorkForce Center, 1730 University Avenue, Crookston, phone 218-281-6020

Bemidji WorkForce Center, 616 America Avenue NW, Suite 210, Bemidji, phone 218-739-7560

Residents of Beltrami, Marshall and Polk counties who suffered losses due to the recent flooding can register for assistance online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov at any time or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) (TTY 1‑800‑4...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top