Main Content

One Month To Register

Main Content
Release date: 
May 8, 2009
Release Number: 

MOORHEAD, Minn. -- Officials with the Minnesota Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) remind families, individuals and businesses that suffered flood damages from March 16 and continuing, they have until June 9 to apply for disaster assistance.

Residents and business owners in the disaster-designated counties can call 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585 to register. Lines are open daily from 6 a.m. to midnight seven days a week or register online anytime at Individual Disaster assistance may include grants to help pay for home repair, temporary housing, uninsurable items and other disaster related needs such as employment.

May 15 is the registration deadline in Clay, Norman, Traverse and Wilkin counties for disaster related unemployment assistance for self-employed persons, or agricultural employees who do not qualify for regular unemployment insurance. The deadline in Beltrami, Marshall and Polk counties will be announced in the near future.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) also offers residents of the seven counties low-interest loans for home-owners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private non-profit organizations affected by the flooding. That deadline is also June 9. However business and private non-profit organizations have until January 11 to file for an Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) to provide working capital to assist through the recovery period.

Registering with FEMA starts the application process for federal and state assistance related to property losses caused by Red River Valley flooding. People who have registered with other agencies must also register with FEMA if they want access to federal and state aid.

After the June 9 disaster assistance deadline, FEMA's toll-free lines will still be available to answer questions about programs or the status of an application.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top