Three Counties And A Tribal Reservation Added To Minnesota Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
May 7, 2009
Release Number: 

MOORHEAD, Minn. -- Federal assistance has been extended to individuals and businesses of Beltrami, Marshall and Polk counties who sustained damage during severe storm and flooding, state and federal officials announced today.

Additionally, the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians is now eligible for Public Assistance (PA). Twenty-eight counties, including seven that are also eligible for Individual Assistance (IA), and two Indian Reservations have now been declared eligible for PA.

Anyone living in Beltrami, Marshall and Polk counties - as well as those in the previously designated counties of Clay, Norman, Traverse and Wilkin - who suffered damage from the severe storms and flooding beginning March 16 and continuing can now register with FEMA. The deadline for registration is June 9.

Homeowners, renters, and business owners can apply by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) (TTY 1-800-462-7585) or they can apply online at The telephone numbers are operating from 6 a.m. to midnight CDT seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.

When applying for help, be sure to have the following information available:

  • Current telephone number;
  • Address at the time of the disaster and the address where you now are staying;
  • Social Security number, if available;
  • A general list of damages and losses;
  • If insured, the name of insurance company or agent and policy number;
  • General financial information;
  • Bank account coding to speed up assistance with direct deposit.

Even if residents have already filled out a damage report form with the state, county emergency managers or a voluntary agency, they still must register with FEMA to be considered eligible for assistance under the April 9, 2009 federal disaster declaration.

By applying, applicants may be considered for assistance from FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). Assistance could include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious, necessary disaster-related expenses such as damaged personal property, medical and dental expenses. Low-interest disaster loans from the SBA also will be available to cover residential (both renters and homeowners) and business physical and economic losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Residents should register with FEMA even if they have insurance. FEMA does not duplicate insurance payments or pay deductibles, but applicants may be eligible for assistance with serious, necessary expenses not covered by insurance.

Under the federal PA program, which provides federal reimbursement to state, local and tribal governments and certain private nonprofit organizations, the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians is now eligible to be covered for disaster-related infrastructure costs caused by severe storms and flooding.

Under the PA cost-share program, FEMA funds 75 percent of the approved cost. Eligible work includes debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repairing or replacing of damaged public facilities such as roads, bridges, buildings, utilities and recreation areas. The state manages the grants for all projects.

An applicant briefing to explain the PA application process will be scheduled for the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians. A date, time and location for the briefing will be announced.

Previously designated counties eligible for PA assistance are Becker, Beltrami, Chippewa, Clay, Cook, Clearwater, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Roseau, Swift, Stevens, Tra...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top