Briefings Set For Officials In Kittson, Marshall And Norman Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
May 4, 2009
Release Number: 

MOORHEAD, Minn. -- Public Assistance (PA) applicant briefings for township, city and county officials, state agencies and certain private non-profit organizations in three Minnesota counties are scheduled for Tuesday and Wednesday, according to state and federal officials.

These briefings explain the application process that local community and state officials will follow to receive disaster assistance for emergency and permanent repair work to infrastructure. State Hazard Mitigation representatives also will provide information during the briefing.

"This is the point where state and FEMA officials provide information about the scope of the public assistance program," said Minnesota State Coordinating Officer Kris Eide.

The following briefings are scheduled for Tuesday and Wednesday, May 5 and 6:

Tuesday, May 5
10 a.m.
Norman County
Ada-Borup High School
604 West Thorpe Ave.
Ada, MN 56510

Tuesday, May 5
2 p.m.
Kittson County
Kittson County Courthouse
Meeting Room
410 Fifth Street South
Hallock, MN 56728

Wednesday, May 6
9:30 a.m.
Marshall County
Marshall County Courthouse
208 Colvin Ave.
Warren, MN 56762

The following are designated eligible for Public Assistance: Becker, Beltrami, Chippewa, Clay, Clearwater, Cook, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Roseau, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wadena, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine counties and the White Earth Tribal Reservation.

Affected local governments in the above jurisdictions are eligible to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, restoration or replacement of damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance may also be provided for damage to facilities owned by certain private non-profit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other essential governmental-type service facilities.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top