Five More Florida Counties Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 2, 2009
Release Number: 

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. -- Five more Florida counties that sustained damages resulting from the March 26 storms, tornadoes and flooding have been designated to receive Public Assistance (PA), federal officials announced today, bringing to 16 the number of north Florida counties eligible to be considered for infrastructure recovery help.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) amended the April 21 major disaster declaration to add Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Leon and Wakulla counties for such assistance.

Local governments and eligible private non-profit organizations in these designated counties may apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and for repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

All of the Florida counties now designated to receive public assistance are: Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Wakulla, Walton and Washington.

Ongoing joint preliminary damage assessments conducted at the request of the state continue elsewhere in the north Florida area with results provided to the governor.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top