Federal Disaster Aid To New York For Ice Storm Continues To Climb

Main Content
Release date: 
April 29, 2009
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- In the latest round of announcements, federal disaster aid now tops $2 million for nine New York counties that suffered damages from the December 2008 ice storm.

The New York State Emergency Management Office (SEMO) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) provide the following summary of assistance approved as of April 27, 2009:

  • Albany County - $295,675
  • Columbia County - $123,745
  • Delaware County - $324,199
  • Greene County - $203,941
  • Rensselaer County - $203,079
  • Saratoga County - $166,134
  • Schenectady County - $300,599
  • Schoharie County - $324,569
  • Washington County - $173,393
  • Statewide - $10,070

President Obama, at the request of Governor David A. Paterson, signed a major disaster declaration for New York on March 4, 2009. The declaration triggered the FEMA Public Assistance program, which funds 75 percent of eligible emergency costs for debris removal, emergency services and permanent work to repair damaged infrastructure.

FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Marianne C. Jackson oversees the federal operations. The New York State Emergency Management Office (SEMO), headed by John R. Gibb, manages the Public Assistance program and works directly with applicants in the nine counties.

New York State and applicants share the remaining 25 percent. State agencies, municipalities and certain private nonprofit organizations in the nine designated counties may apply for the assistance.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top