Main Content

Cook County Added To Minnesota Declaration

Release date: 
April 28, 2009
Release Number: 

MOORHEAD, Minn. -- Cook County was designated eligible for federal Public Assistance (PA) today. That brings the total number of counties to 28 and one reservation according to officials from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The April 9, 2009 major disaster declaration covers disaster-related infrastructure costs caused by severe storms and flooding that began March 16 and continuing. It provides federal reimbursement to state, local and tribal governments and certain private nonprofit organizations.  

Under the PA cost-share program, FEMA funds 75 percent of the approved cost. Eligible work includes debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repairing or replacing of damaged public facilities such as roads, bridges, buildings, utilities and recreation areas. The state manages the grants for all projects.

The main goal of FEMA's PA program is to restore eligible facilities to their pre-disaster levels. Funds are available that allow certain projects to be rebuilt to a higher standard if it can be demonstrated the increased costs will save taxpayers money in the future.

State officials will hold a series of applicant briefings for representatives of state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations. The briefings will explain the PA application process. Dates, times and locations for these briefings will be announced.

Previously designated counties eligible for PA assistance are Becker, Beltrami, Chippewa, Clay, Clearwater, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Roseau, Swift, Stevens, Traverse, Wadena, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine counties and the White Earth Tribal Reservation

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: