Public Assistance Applicant Briefings Set For 21 Minnesota Counties, Tribal Reservation

Main Content
Release date: 
April 25, 2009
Release Number: 

MOORHEAD, Minn. -- Public Assistance (PA) applicant briefings for city and county officials, state agencies and certain private non-profit organizations in the 27 designated Minnesota counties and a tribal reservation are continuing this week, according to federal and state officials.

These briefings explain the application process that community and state officials will follow to receive disaster assistance for emergency and permanent repair work to infrastructure. State Hazard Mitigation representatives also will provide information during the briefing.

"This is the point where state and FEMA officials provide information about the scope of the public assistance program," said State Coordinating Officer Kris Eide

The following briefings are scheduled for Monday through Wednesday, April 27-29:

Monday, April 27

10 a.m. Douglas, Pope counties
Douglas County Public Works
509 3rd Ave. West
Alexandria, Minn.

Tuesday, April 28

9:30 a.m. Chippewa, Lac Qui Parle, Yellow Medicine counties
Chippewa County Courthouse
629 N. 11th St.
Montevideo, Minn.

1:30 p.m. Stevens, Swift, Grant, Traverse counties
American Legion Auxiliary Post 29
507 Pacific Ave.
Morris, Minn.

1:30 p.m. Roseau and Lake of the Woods counties
Roseau City Center Meeting Room
Roseau, Minn.

Wednesday, April 29

9:30 a.m. Otter Tail, Wilkin, Wadena counties
Minnesota National Guard Armory
421 Cecil Ave.
Fergus Falls, Minn.

9:30 a.m. Polk, Red Lake, Pennington counties
University of Minnesota, Crookston Campus
Kiehle Building Auditorium
Crookston, Minn.

1:30 p.m. Becker, Hubbard, Mahnomen counties and White Earth Tribal Government
Minnesota Technical School
900 Highway 34 E.
Detroit Lakes, Minn.

A briefing for Clay County has been scheduled for April 30, according to federal and state officials. A location and time will be announced.

The following were designated eligible for Public Assistance: Becker, Beltrami, Chippewa, Clay, Clearwater, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Roseau, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wadena, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine counties, the White Earth Tribal Reservation.

Affected local governments in the above counties are eligible to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, restoration or replacement of damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance may also be provided for damage to facilities owned by certain private non-profit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other essential governmental-type service facilities.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top