Main Content

Register For Disaster Assistance With FEMA

Release date: 
April 10, 2009
Release Number: 

MOORHEAD, Minn. -- Residents of Clay, Norman, Traverse and Wilkin counties who sustained damage during the recent severe storms and flooding are urged to contact the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or online at

Individuals living in the four designated counties now may be eligible to receive Individual Assistance, which was added this afternoon to the federal disaster declaration for Public Assistance in Minnesota approved by President Obama yesterday.

Even if you have already filled out a damage report form with the state, county emergency managers or voluntary agency, you must still register with FEMA. The only way to receive federal disaster assistance is to register at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585.

The declaration makes residents of these counties eligible for a wide range of programs such as funding for temporary housing assistance, replacement grants for serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs.

FEMA disaster assistance grants cover basic needs only and will not compensate victims for their entire loss. For those with insurance, the government may help pay for basic needs not covered by insurance.

Many residents and businesses that have registered with FEMA for assistance have received an SBA disaster loan application. Completing the loan application and returning it is a crucial step toward disaster recovery. Renters and homeowners found to be ineligible for an SBA disaster loan will be referred to FEMA for consideration for other assistance. To be eligible for these grants, applicants must submit their SBA loan application even if they do not want a loan. No one is required to accept a loan.

SBA disaster assistance information is available by calling (800) 659-2955 (TTY (800) 877-8339) or by visiting SBA's Web site at

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: