Main Content

FEMA Expands Incident Period For December Snow Storm

Main Content
Release date: 
April 2, 2009
Release Number: 

Salem, Oregon. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced an amendment to its disaster declaration for Oregon for the December 20-26, 2008 period of severe winter storm, record and near record snow, landslides, and mudslides.

The incident period has been expanded to now include the period December 13-26, 2008.

Dolph Diemont, Federal Coordinating Officer, said, ?After further reviewing the data from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration it was clear that the December storm was of a greater duration than had initially been determined.?

Oregon State Coordinating Officer, Abby Kershaw stated, ?The expansion of the incident period will allow the state and local governments greater latitude in determining the damages and costs incurred as a result of the December storm and to receive assistance from FEMA for those damages and costs.?

A total number of ten Oregon counties are included in this disaster declaration, including: Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Hood River, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington, and Yamhill Counties. All counties in the State of Oregon are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: