Main Content

Washington County Designated for Public Assistance

Release date: 
March 17, 2009
Release Number: 

SALEM, Ore. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced an amendment to its disaster declaration for Oregon for the December 20-26, 2008 period of severe winter storms, record and near record snow, landslides, and mudslides.

The designation of Washington County has been expanded to include, as required, payment of not less than 75 percent of the eligible costs for repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, bridges, utilities, buildings, schools, recreational areas and similar publicly owned property, as well as certain private non-profit organizations engaged in community service activities. Washington County is also eligible to receive, as required, payment of not less than 75 percent of the eligible costs for removing debris from public areas and for emergency measures taken to save lives and protect property and public health, including snow removal assistance.

Dolph Diemont, Federal Coordinating Officer, said, "We are pleased to work with the state of Oregon in assuring that all eligible needs are met in Oregon counties. This assistance was granted based on an additional review of damage data gathered by federal, state and local disaster recovery officials for the severe winter storms, record snow, landslides, and mudslides."

Oregon State Coordinating Officer, Abby Kershaw stated, "This disaster assistance will be a great help to affected counties in tough economic times.  We are very happy FEMA approved this request."

This amendment brings the total number of Oregon counties included in this disaster declaration to nine, including: Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Hood River, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Washington, and Yamhill Counties. All counties in the State of Oregon are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: