Ten More Kentucky Counties Eligible For Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
March 10, 2009
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- An additional 10 Kentucky counties are now eligible for federal Public Assistance reimbursement and program grants under President Obama's Major Disaster Declaration of Feb. 5, according to officials of the Kentucky Division of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The added counties are Boone, Casey, Gallatin, Hancock, Henry, Kenton, Simpson, Taylor, Trimble and Wolfe.

Public Assistance is available to eligible state and local governments as well as certain private non-profit organizations on a cost-sharing basis. The goal is to help rebuild public infrastructure damage from the January ice storm, which is the worst in Kentucky history.

The total number of federally designated counties is now 103.

The disaster declaration amendment also makes federal funding available to all of the designated counties except Allen, Clay and Perry for what is known as Categories C through G, which cover road systems and bridges, water control facilities, public buildings, public utilities, parks and recreation. All 103 designated counties are eligible for reimbursement for debris removal and emergency protective measures.

The federal share of the costs is 75 percent, with the remaining share coming from local and state government.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top