Disaster Assistance For Floods Over $9 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
March 6, 2009
Release Number: 

Olympia, Wash. -- Officials of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Washington Emergency Management Division (WEMD) today announced that $9 million in federal disaster assistance has been disbursed since the Presidential disaster declaration was issued on January 30, 2009. There are 3,364 homeowners and renters who have applied for disaster assistance, and inspectors have visited 2,718 homes. Grants awarded to date total $6,871,317, which includes:

  • $6,247,084 in housing assistance to cover temporary rental assistance, home repairs and replacement
  • $ 624,233 in other needs assistance to cover essential personal property losses, medical, dental, funeral, transportation or serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance

In addition, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has awarded $ 2,233,900 in low-interest disaster loans to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance or other compensation, bringing the total of disaster assistance so far to $9,105,217.

While all FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) are now closed, people are still encouraged to apply at 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA) (TTY 1-800-462-7585) from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., seven days a week, or to register online at www.disasterassistance.gov. The deadline to register for disaster assistance is March 31.

Additionally, two of the DRCs have transitioned to SBA Disaster Loan Recovery Centers (DLOCS) and are set up to assist applicants with SBA loan applications.

They are:

Puyallup DLOC
Community Resource Center
107 N. Meridian (corner of E. Main and N. Meridian)
Puyallup, WA 98371
Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.

Longview DLOC
Cowlitz Co. Training Center (The Boat House)
1942 First Avenue Longview, WA 98632
Hours: Wednesday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.

People who have received or will receive SBA applications are strongly urged to complete and immediately return their SBA applications. Even if they do not want a loan, submitting a loan application is a requirement for further disaster assistance. 

Residents of the following designated counties are eligible to apply: Benton, Cowlitz, Clallam, Grays Harbor, King, Kittitas, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, Skagit, Snohomish, Thurston, Wahkiakum and Whatcom, counties designated for disaster assistance, are eligible for disaster assistance.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism and man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top