Main Content

President Declares Major Disaster For Indiana

Release date: 
March 5, 2009
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for the state of Indiana to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a severe winter storm during the period of January 26-28, 2009.

FEMA Acting Administrator Nancy Ward said the assistance was authorized under a major disaster declaration issued for the state by President Obama.  Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organization on a cost-sharing basis for Clark, Crawford, Dubois, Floyd, Gibson, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Orange, Perry, Spencer, Switzerland, Vanderburgh, Warrick, and Washington counties.  In addition, federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties statewide.

Ward named Regis Leo Phelan as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Phelan said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
March 29, 2016 - 20:05
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: