Main Content

Pope County Added For Public Assistance Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
February 24, 2009
Release Number: 

NORTH LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM) announced today that Pope County is now eligible for disaster Public Assistance to help with recovery from the severe winter storms of Jan. 26-30. This brings the total number of designated counties to 30.

Federal Coordinating Officer Mike Moore said the assistance was approved following a review of damage reports gathered by federal and state disaster recovery specialists.

The Public Assistance Program reimburses local governments, state agencies and certain private non-profits (that provide public services) for 75 percent of eligible costs.

These counties are now eligible for reimbursement for storm costs, including:

  • Debris removal
  • Emergency protective measures
  • Repair/replacement of damaged roads and bridges
  • Repair/replacement of water control facilities
  • Repair/replacement of  public buildings and their contents
  • Repair/replacement of publicly owned utilities
  • Repair/replacement of parks and recreation areas

ADEM will conduct briefings for applicants.

Pope County joins these previously designated counties: Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Cleburne, Conway, Crawford, Craighead, Cross, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Johnson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Newton, Poinsett, Randolph, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, and Washington.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: