Additional County Designated For Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
February 24, 2009
Release Number: 

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced the addition of Barry County to the list of counties eligible for federal disaster assistance for damage to public property from the severe winter ice storm January 26-28. The additional assistance is based on a review by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Barry County was added to the twenty counties already authorized for aid under President Obama?s February 17 major disaster declaration for Missouri. The other twenty counties are Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Dunklin, Howell, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, and Wayne.

The designated counties are eligible for federal funding to pay affected local governments 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and the restoration of damaged public facilities. All counties and the Independent City of St. Louis are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top