President Declares Major Disaster For Tennessee

Main Content
Release date: 
February 17, 2009
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for the State of Tennessee to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe winter storms and flooding during the period of January 27-31, 2009.

<>Acting FEMA Administrator Nancy Ward said the assistance was authorized under a major disaster declaration issued for the state by President Obama.  The President's action makes federal funding available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storms and flooding in the counties of Dyer, Henry, Lake, Montgomery, Obion, Stewart, and Weakley.

Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties statewide.

Terry L. Quarles has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Quarles said that additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top