Main Content

Seven More Kentucky Counties Eligible For Emergency Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
February 13, 2009
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, KY -- Local governments in an additional seven Kentucky counties are now eligible for direct federal assistance under the emergency declaration for the severe winter storm that began Jan. 27, according to officials from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The added counties are Boone, Casey, Gallatin, Henry, Kenton, Taylor and Trimble.

President Obama signed the emergency declaration Wednesday, Jan. 28. The additional seven counties bring the total number of federally designated counties to 100 for the emergency.

The previously designated counties are Allen, Anderson, Ballard, Barren, Bath, Bourbon, Boyd, Boyle, Breathitt, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Campbell, Carlisle, Carroll, Carter, Christian, Clark, Clay, Crittenden, Daviess, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Fulton, Garrard, Grant, Graves, Grayson, Green, Greenup, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Hart, Henderson, Hickman, Hopkins, Jackson, Jefferson, Jessamine, Johnson, Larue, Lawrence, Lee, Lewis, Lincoln, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Marshall, Martin, Mason, McCracken, Mclean, Meade, Menifee, Mercer, Metcalfe, Montgomery, Morgan, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Nicholas, Ohio, Oldham, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Powell, Rowan, Robertson, Scott, Shelby, Spencer, Todd, Trigg, Union, Warren, Washington, Webster, Wolfe and Woodford.

The emergency declaration makes federal funding, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act, available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a
cost-sharing basis to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in the designated areas.

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to provide emergency protective measures (Category B), limited to direct federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program at 75 percent federal funding.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: