Main Content

Disaster Recovery Center To Open In Morton

Main Content
Release date: 
February 11, 2009
Release Number: 

OLYMPIA -- Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Washington Emergency Management Division (WEMD) officials announced that beginning this week, Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) will be closed on Sundays. Hours of operation will be 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday thru Saturday.

The DRC in Chehalis will be closed after Saturday, Feb. 14:

Yard Birds Mall
2100 N National Ave, 2nd floor
Chehalis, WA 98532

Monday, Feb. 16 at noon, FEMA and the state will open a DRC in Morton:

Bob Lyle Community Center
700 Main St
Morton, WA 98356

It is not necessary to visit a DRC to register for assistance. Applicants can register for disaster assistance by calling, toll-free, 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA) (TTY 1-800-462-7585) 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. seven days a week, or register online at While it is possible to register at a DRC, FEMA and WEMD officials encourage people to register before visiting.

DRCs provide disaster assistant applicants with one-on-one information regarding:

  • Application status
  • FEMA and state disaster assistance programs
  • SBA low-interest disaster loans and how to complete the loan application
  • Smart building techniques to reduce damage from future floods, and
  • Flood insurance

There are currently six other DRC locations in Washington:

Auburn SuperMall (Inside – opposite Sam's Club)
1101 Supermall Way, Suite 1157
Auburn, WA 98001

Cowlitz County Training Center (The Boat House)
1942 First Ave
Longview, WA 98632

Evergreen State Fairgrounds
14405 179th Ave SE, Building 501
Monroe, WA 98272

Westfield Capital Shopping Center
625 Black Lake Blvd, Suite 374
Olympia, WA 98502

South Hill Mall (located near the old J.C. Penny's entrance)
3500 S. Meridian, Suite 940
Puyallup, WA 98373

Our Savior's Lutheran Church, basement entrance
324 Jackson Ave.
Raymond, WA 98577

FEMA's Web site provides a DRC locator tool to find the DRC closest to you:

Residents of following counties are eligible to receive disaster assistance: Benton, Cowlitz, Clallam, Grays Harbor, King, Kittitas, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, Skagit, Snohomish, Thurston, Wahkiakum and Whatcom.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: