Kentucky Emergency Expands; 93 Counties Eligible For Federal Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
February 3, 2009
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Local governments in an additional 32 Kentucky counties are now eligible for direct federal assistance under an emergency declaration for last week's severe winter storm, according to officials from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The added counties are Ballard, Bourbon, Bullitt, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Christian, Clay, Fleming, Franklin, Grant, Green, Greenup, Hancock, Henderson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lee, Lewis, Livingston, Martin, McLean, Menifee, Montgomery, Oldham, Owen, Pendleton, Rowan, Robertson, Scott, Spencer and Warren.

"Together, FEMA and the Commonwealth of Kentucky are working aggressively to restore vital life and safety services as quickly as possible. It is our continuing commitment to help Kentucky through this emergency," Regional Administrator Phil May said.

President Obama signed an emergency declaration Wednesday, Jan. 28. The additional 32 counties bring the total number of federally designated counties to 93.

Counties named in the initial declaration are Allen, Anderson, Barren, Bath, Boyd, Boyle, Breathitt, Breckinridge, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Clark, Crittenden, Daviess, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fayette, Floyd, Fulton, Garrard, Graves, Grayson, Hardin, Harrison, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Larue, Lincoln, Logan, Lyon, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Marshall, Mason, McCracken, Meade, Mercer, Metcalfe, Morgan, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Nicholas, Ohio, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Shelby, Todd, Trigg, Union, Washington, Webster, Wolfe, and Woodford.

The emergency declaration makes federal funding, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act, available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in the designated areas.

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to provide emergency protective measures (Category B), limited to direct federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program at 75 percent federal funding.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top