Disaster Assistance Tops $180,000

Main Content
Release date: 
February 3, 2009
Release Number: 

SEATTLE, Wash. ?-- Since the federal disaster declaration of Jan. 30th, residents have received more than $180,000 in recovery assistance.

To date, 408 applicants have registered with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). In addition, 91 homes have been inspected to verify disaster-related damages.

Under the disaster declaration of Jan. 30, 2009 federal assistance is available to affected individuals in King, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, Snohomish, Thurston and Wahkiakum counties. Eligible assistance can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Receiving FEMA-State assistance begins with registering with FEMA. Applicants can register for FEMA assistance by calling, toll-free, 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA), TTY 1-800-462-7585. Operators are available between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. seven days a week. Applicants can also register online at www.disasterassistance.gov. Registration deadline is March 31, 2009.

"Remember, the only way to begin the recovery assistance process is to call 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA)," said State Coordinating Officer Kurt Hardin. "People may have called their local emergency managers, their insurance agents or 2-1-1 nonprofit agencies, but these calls will not register them for federal-state aid."

"The sooner you register with FEMA," adds Federal Coordinating Officer Willie Nunn, "the sooner you may be eligible for assistance."

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism and man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top