Main Content

FEMA Assists Kentucky With Winter Storm Emergency

Main Content
Release date: 
January 31, 2009
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- The Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is helping the Commonwealth of Kentucky with its response to this week's major winter storm. Wednesday evening, Gov. Steve Beshear asked for and quickly received an Emergency Declaration from President Obama, which cleared the way for federal aid for 61 designated counties.

FEMA began moving food, water and industrial-size emergency generators into the commonwealth Thursday morning. To date, 12 truckloads of water, six truckloads of meals ready-to-eat and 50 industrial-size generators to provide power for critical facilities have moved into the national logistics staging area at Fort Campbell.  In addition, FEMA is fulfilling the commonwealth's requests for fuel and communications equipment.

"We are working closely with Kentucky emergency management officials and will continue to do so as long as necessary to help the people of the commonwealth through this winter storm emergency," FEMA Regional Administrator Phil May said. "Our priorities are to save lives and protect public health and safety."

Federal Coordinating Officer Kim Kadesch went to the Kentucky Emergency Operations Center in Frankfort on Thursday, joining FEMA liaison personnel already there.

FEMA's Regional Response Coordination Center in Atlanta activated at 7 a.m. Thursday morning, allowing several federal agencies to join in coordinated support of Kentucky's efforts to protect life and property.

Under the emergency declaration, this aid comes under FEMA's Public Assistance program for state agencies and affected local governments.  FEMA directs other federal agencies and provides 75 percent federal funding for emergency measures.

The 61 counties named in the emergency declaration are:  Allen, Anderson, Barren, Bath, Boyd, Boyle, Breathitt, Breckinridge, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Clark, Crittenden, Daviess, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fayette, Floyd, Fulton, Garrard, Graves, Grayson, Hardin, Harrison, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Larue, Lincoln, Logan, Lyon, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Marshall, Mason, McCracken, Meade, Mercer, Metcalfe, Morgan, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Nicholas, Ohio, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Shelby, Todd, Trigg, Union, Washington, Webster, Wolfe and Woodford.

FEMA leads and supports the nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation, to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from all hazards including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: