New York State to Get Federal Funds For Storm Response and Cleanup

Main Content
Release date: 
January 16, 2009
Release Number: 

Albany, New York -- Federal emergency aid for nine New York counties has been approved, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials said today.

The federal assistance is in response to Governor Paterson's December 15, 2008 request for federal emergency aid following the ice storm.

The counties are: Albany, Columbia, Delaware, Greene, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, and Washington.

Government entities and certain private non-profits in these counties may be eligible for federal aid through FEMA's Public Assistance program. FEMA's action will provide federal funds for debris removal and emergency protective measures such as eligible police and fire overtime, equipment usage, emergency salting and sanding and shelter costs.

"New York did an outstanding job protecting life and property during the ice storm," said Marianne C. Jackson, Federal Coordinating Officer for this federal recovery operation. Ms. Jackson said this expanded emergency declaration will help New York State communities recoup eligible response and clean-up costs.

FEMA funds 75 percent of eligible costs. The New York State Emergency Management Office (SEMO), headed by John R. Gibb, manages the Public Assistance program and will shortly announce the applicant briefing schedule for the nine counties.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top