Main Content

Federal Assistance Expanded In Massachusetts to Include Essex and Middlesex Counties

Release date: 
January 16, 2009
Release Number: 

Holyoke, MA - The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced it is expanding disaster assistance to two additional Massachusetts counties to help pay for repair, restoration, reconstruction or replacement of public facilities, roads and bridges, water facilities and other infrastructure damaged or destroyed by severe storms and flooding that occurred from the December 11-12th Ice Storm.

Essex and Middlesex Counties have been added to the major disaster declaration by President Bush on January 5, which provided assistance to the counties of Berkshire, Franklin, Hampden, Hampshire and Worcester.

Under the Public Assistance program local governments in the designated counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

A briefing for local officials will be held where procedures for requesting federal assistance will be explained by FEMA and state officials.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: