President Declares Major Disaster for South Dakota

Main Content
Release date: 
December 12, 2008
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for South Dakota to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a severe winter storm and record and near record snow during the period of November 5-7, 2008.

FEMA Administrator David Paulison said federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm and record and near record snow in the counties of Bennett, Butte, Corson, Dewey, Haakon, Harding, Jackson, Meade, Mellette, Perkins, Shannon, Todd, and Ziebach Counties and the portions of the Pine Ridge Reservation, Rosebud Reservation, Cheyenne River Reservation, and Standing Rock Reservation that lie within the designated counties.

In addition, assistance for snow removal and emergency protective measures that were undertaken to save lives and protect public health, safety and property over a continuous 48-hour period in response to record and near record snow is available to the State and eligible local governments in the counties of Butte and Perkins.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state.

Paulison named Nancy M. Casper the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Casper said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror. 

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top