FEMA Extends Application Deadline for Disaster Assistance Until Dec. 16

Main Content
Release date: 
November 20, 2008
Release Number: 

CHICAGO, Ill. -- Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials extended the registration period for people in nine Illinois counties who were affected by severe storms and flooding that occurred between Sept. 13 and Oct. 5. The deadline to register for federal assistance is now Dec. 16 for renters, homeowners and businesses in Cook, Dekalb, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, LaSalle, Peoria, Will and Woodford counties.

"We are committed to working with the state and local governments as well as other federal and voluntary agencies to be sure the citizens of Illinois get the assistance they need to recover from this disaster," said Federal Coordinating Officer Libby Turner. By extending the deadline, it ensures everyone has a little extra time to register for federal assistance."

"Even though the Dec. 2 deadline has been extended, don't wait until Dec.16 to register for federal disaster assistance. Anyone who suffered damages or losses should register now," said Director Andrew Velasquez III of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency.

To register for federal disaster assistance, call 800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 1-800-462-7585 or go online at www.fema.gov. Registration with any other local, state or voluntary agency does not register anyone for federal assistance.

The deadline to submit loan applications to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is also Dec. 16. Low-interest SBA loans are the primary source of help with expenses caused by uninsured losses of real or personal property. Should a renter or homeowner not be eligible for an SBA disaster loan, the SBA will refer the applicant back to FEMA for consideration of additional grant assistance. Information about SBA programs is available at 800-659-2955 or online at www.sba.gov.

Assistance for eligible individuals and families may include:

  • Rental payments for temporary housing for those whose homes were made unlivable by the disaster;
  • Grants for home repairs and replacement of essential household items not covered by insurance to make damaged dwellings safe, sanitary and functional;
  • Grants to replace personal property and help meet medical, dental, funeral, transportation and other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other federal, state and charitable aid programs; and
  • Low-interest SBA disaster loans for homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top