Nine Counties Eligible for Federal Disaster Help

Main Content
Release date: 
November 18, 2008
Release Number: 

CHICAGO, Ill. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has designated nine Illinois counties as eligible for federal assistance to help pay for emergency services and repair or replacement of facilities and infrastructure damaged by September flooding.

FEMA and the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) today announced that government entities and some private non-profit agencies in Bureau, Cass, Greene, Kendall, Macoupin, Montgomery, Scott, Will and Woodford counties may apply for aid. Will and Woodford were previously designated to receive help from FEMA's Individuals and Households Program.?

Under the public assistance program, municipal and county agencies and other qualified entities can receive reimbursement for eligible disaster related costs. These may include debris removal, emergency protective measures and repair of damage to roads, bridges, buildings, utilities and recreation areas.

FEMA Public Assistance is a cost-share program with the federal share usually set at 75 percent. The state manages the grants for all projects.

These newly designated counties have 30 days from the date of designation (Nov. 18) to submit a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) with state officials. Those who want to submit an RPA should contact their local emergency manager for more information. The state will soon schedule briefings to explain the process to prospective applicants.

The main goal of the PA program is to restore facilities to pre-disaster levels. However, funding is available for some damaged facilities to be rebuilt to a higher standard if it can be demonstrated the increased costs will save taxpayers money in the future.

There are now a total of 13 Illinois counties eligible for public assistance as a result of the September flooding. The four counties already designated for the program are Cook, DuPage, Grundy and LaSalle.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top