Disaster Aid For Peoria County

Main Content
Release date: 
November 13, 2008
Release Number: 

CHICAGO?Residents of Peoria County, Ill., are now eligible to apply for federal assistance to help them recover from uninsured losses caused by the flooding and severe storms in September.

Officials with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) today announced the addition of Peoria to the eight other Illinois counties (Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, LaSalle, Will and Woodford) that were already designated for individual assistance as the result of a federal disaster declaration on Oct. 3. Peoria was added following a review of data on damage its residents sustained during the severe weather Sept. 13-Oct. 5.
Assistance for eligible individuals and families may include:

  • Rental payments for temporary housing for those whose homes were made unlivable by the disaster.
  • Grants for home repairs and replacement of essential household items not covered by insurance to make damaged dwellings safe, sanitary and functional.
  • Grants to replace personal property and help meet medical, dental, funeral, transportation and other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other federal, state and charitable aid programs.
  • Low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

There are only two ways to register for assistance. Call FEMA toll free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 or go online to www.fema.gov. Registration with any other agency does not register an individual or household for federal assistance.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top