Disaster Aid For Woodford County

Main Content
Release date: 
October 31, 2008
Release Number: 

CHICAGO, Ill. -- Residents of Woodford County, Ill., are now eligible to apply for federal assistance to help with their uninsured losses as a result of  September's flooding and storms. 

Officials with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) today announced the addition of Woodford to the seven other northeastern Illinois counties (Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, LaSalle and Will) that became eligible for individual assistance after a federal disaster declaration on Oct. 3. Woodford was added following a review of data on damage its residents sustained as a result of the severe weather from Sept. 13-Oct. 5.

Assistance for eligible individuals and families may include:

  • Rental payments for temporary housing for those whose homes were made unlivable by the disaster.
  • Grants for home repairs and replacement of essential household items not covered by insurance to make damaged dwellings safe, sanitary and functional.
  • Grants to replace personal property and help meet medical, dental, funeral, transportation and other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other federal, state and charitable aid programs.
  • Low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

There are two ways to register for assistance. Call FEMA toll free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 or go online to www.fema.gov.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top