Individual Assistance And Public Assistance Counties Added

Main Content
Release date: 
October 17, 2008
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The presidential disaster declaration of September 23 for Indiana was amended on October 16 to include the following counties for Individual Assistance: Floyd, Perry, Scott and Washington. As a result, residents of 20 Indiana counties may now apply for a variety of federal and state disaster recovery programs and services. Those counties include: Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Floyd, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Knox, Lake, LaPorte, Lawrence, Martin, Perry, Pike, Porter, Scott, Spencer, Switzerland and Washington.

Federal and state officials urge homeowners, renters and businesses in these counties who were affected by the Sept. 12 - Oct. 6 storms and flooding to register for disaster assistance immediately by calling 1-800-621-FEMA. For those with hearing or speech impairments call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Registration lines and on-line registration at are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week until further notice.

Registration is the first step to being considered for federal disaster assistance. Officials remind residents who have already filled out damage report forms with the State, county emergency managers, or voluntary agencies that they must register with FEMA to be considered for federal assistance.

All residents are encouraged to get involved with the recovery by helping spread the word about available assistance. Tell your neighbor.
In addition, the Oct. 16 amendment made the following counties eligible for Public Assistance: Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Fayette, Harrison, Jefferson, Jennings, Lake, Porter, Ripley, Scott, Switzerland, Washington and Wayne. Through the Public Assistance program, governmental entities, municipal authorities, and certain private-nonprofit organizations in these counties may now apply for reimbursement for eligible disaster related costs such as debris removal, emergency protective measures and damage to public infrastructure such as roads, bridges, buildings, utilities and recreation areas.

Under this cost-share program, FEMA Public Assistance funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work by state and local governments and certain nonprofit organizations that provide public services. The state manages the grants for all projects.

Counties eligible for Public Assistance have 30 days from the date of designation (October 16) to submit a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) with state officials. Anyone wanting to submit an RPA should contact their local emergency manager for more information.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top