FEMA Disaster Recovery Reach Expands

Main Content
Release date: 
October 3, 2008
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Officials from Gov. Mitch Daniels' office, the Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)said today that a variety of disaster recovery programs are available for residents in 10 more Indiana counties.?

Federal and state programs will help homeowners, renters and business owners bounce back from severe storms and flooding that accompanied the remnants of Hurricane Ike into the state.

Residents with property damages in the following counties are eligible to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs:? Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Jackson, Knox, Lawrence, Martin, Pike, Spencer and Switzerland counties.

Federal help includes:

  • Grants for temporary disaster housing assistance and home repairs
  • Grants to help meet serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs
  • U. S. Small Business Administration low-interest loans for homeowners, renters and business owners to repair or replace real or personal property and for housing repair

In addition, an array of state programs will be offered.

Affected individuals and business owners may apply for assistance by calling the toll-free application number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). An application can also be completed online at www.fema.gov.

Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Officials remind residents who have already filled out damage report forms for state and local offices or voluntary agencies that they must apply to FEMA to be considered for federal assistance.

Applicants are asked to provide the following information:

  • Current phone number
  • Social Security number, if available
  • A general list of damages and losses from the storms and flooding
  • Insurance policy number, or agent and company name if you have property insurance
  • Household financial information
  • The address of the damaged property and directions to reach it

Counties previously designated as eligible for assistance are: Harrison, Jefferson, Jennings, Lake, LaPorte and Porter counties.? Additional counties and types of available assistance may be added following continuing damage assessments.

All residents are encouraged to get involved with the recovery by helping spread the word about available assistance. Tell your neighbor.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top