Main Content

Disaster Assistance Programs Listed For Jefferson, Jennings, Harrison Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
September 27, 2008
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Officials from the Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today the slate of disaster assistance programs available for three more Indiana counties to help residents recover from the effects of severe storms and flooding that occurred September 12 and continuing.

Individuals and business owners in Jefferson, Jennings and Harrison counties with property damages are eligible to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush.

Help can include;

  • Funding for temporary disaster housing assistance
  • Grants to help meet serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs
  • U. S. Small Business Administration low-interest loans for homeowners, renters and business owners to repair or replace real or personal property and for housing repair

Counties previously designated as eligible for assistance are: Lake, LaPorte and Porter counties.  Additional counties and types of available assistance may be added following continuing damage assessments.

Affected individuals and business owners may apply for assistance by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). An application can also be completed online at Those with a speech- or hearing-impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Officials remind affected residents who have already filled out damage report forms with the State, or their county emergency managers, or voluntary agencies that they must register with FEMA at the above numbers or Web site to be eligible for federal assistance.

All residents are also encouraged to get involved with the recovery by helping spread the word about available assistance. Tell your neighbor.  

Callers are advised to have the following information available to help speed up the application process:

  • Current phone number
  • Social Security number, if available
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered
  • If insured, insurance policy number, or agent and company name
  • Household financial information
  • The address of and good directions to the damaged property
  • A phone number where you can be reached during the daytime and early evening

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: