Federal Assistance Expanded in New Hampshire to Include Carroll County

Main Content
Release date: 
September 18, 2008
Release Number: 

PORTSMOUTH, N.H. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced it is expanding disaster assistance to an additional New Hampshire county to help pay for repair, restoration, reconstruction or replacement of public facilities, roads and bridges, water facilities and other infrastructure damaged or destroyed by severe storms and flooding that occurred during the period of July 24 to August 14, 2008.

Carroll County has been added to the major disaster declaration by President Bush on September 5, which provided assistance to the counties of Belknap, Coos and Grafton.

Under the Public Assistance program local governments in the designated counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

A briefing for local officials will be held where procedures for requesting federal assistance will be explained by FEMA and state officials.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top