Federal Aid Programs for Missouri Disaster Recovery

Main Content
Release date: 
September 10, 2008
Release Number: 

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- The addition of seven counties - Adair, Callaway, Chariton, Harrison, Macon, Monroe and Putnam -? to the June 25 Disaster Declaration has allowed individuals and households in those counties to be eligible for assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). These counties have been added to the 20 counties in Missouri that were declared.

Those who have incurred damage from the severe storms and flooding that took place between June 1 and Aug. 13 can now apply to FEMA for a wide range of Individual Assistance (IA) programs available to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private non-profit organizations.

Registering for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is an important step in the recovery process. Once registered, the following types of aid can become available, as needed and warranted:

  • Rental payments for temporary housing to those whose homes are unlivable.

  • Grants for home repairs and replacement of essential household items not covered by insurance.

  • Grants to replace personal property and help meet medical, dental, funeral, transportation and other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other federal, state and charitable aid programs.

  • Unemployment payments up to 26 weeks for workers who temporarily lost jobs because of the disaster and who do not qualify for state benefits, such as self-employed individuals, including farmers.

  • Low-interest loans to cover residential losses not fully compensated by insurance. Loans available up to $200,000 for primary residence; $40,000 for personal property, including renter losses. Loans available up to $2 million for business property losses not fully compensated by insurance. These are made available through the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

  • SBA loans up to $2 million for small businesses and most private, non-profit organizations that have suffered disaster-related cash flow problems and need funds for working capital to recover from the disaster's adverse economic impact. This loan in combination with a property loss loan cannot exceed a total of $2 million.

There are several programs available from the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture specifically for farmers, ranchers and aquaculture operators. These can include USDA Farm Service Agency loans of up to $500,000 to cover production and property losses.

There are other assistance programs available for individuals, homeowners, and businesses through the USDA's Rural Development agency.

Missourians in the affected areas are encouraged to register with FEMA even if they have insurance. FEMA does not duplicate insurance payments, but applicants who are under-insured may be reconsidered after claims have been settled.

Registration with FEMA is required separately from registration with any other disaster relief organizations.

FEMA's toll-free registration helpline is open from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. until further notice. To register, call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired.

Online registration is available anytime at www.fema.gov.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top